View count: 3124

IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas

IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas
The IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas is the first global standard of best practice for area-based conservation. It is a programme of certification for protected and conserved areas – national parks, natural World Heritage sites, community conserved areas, nature reserves and so on – that are effectively managed and fairly governed.
This is an image
46 areas in 14 countries
IUCN just listed 6 new areas to the IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas, which now counts 46 sites in total. Discover the IUCN Green List areas here!
By giving recognition to well-managed and well-governed protected and conserved areas, the IUCN Green List aims to increase the number of natural areas delivering long-lasting conservation results for people and nature.

Global Standard
At the heart of the IUCN Green List Programme is a globally applicable Standard. It provides an international benchmark for quality that motivates improved performance and achievement of conservation objectives. By committing to meet the IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas global Standard, site managers seek to demonstrate and maintain performance and deliver real nature conservation results.

The IUCN Green List Standard
The objective of the Standard is to "encourage protected and conserved areas to measure, improve and maintain their performance through globally consistent criteria that benchmark good governance, sound design and planning, effective management, and successful conservation outcomes."
This is an image
The IUCN Green List Standard is organised into four components of successful nature conservation in protected and conserved areas. The baseline components concern:
 Good Governance
• Sound Design and Planning
• Effective Management
Together, these support the component on Successful Conservation Outcomes attesting to the successful achievement of an area’s goals and objectives. Each component has a set of criteria and each criterion has a set of indicators to measure achievement.
This is an image
Globally Consistent, Locally Relevant
The Criteria are globally consistent requirements that collectively describe the efforts needed to fully achieve the Standard. A ‘Green List’ site is one that is currently evaluated to achieve all criteria, across all four components. The Standard is implemented through a jurisdictional approach, tailored to each country or region where it is adopted. The programme allows for flexibility for each jurisdiction to implement the Standard. For each criterion in the Standard, a set of Generic Indicators and associated Means of Verification is maintained by IUCN. These generic indicators may be adapted to the context of each participating jurisdiction, to allow for reflection of regional and local characteristics and circumstances in which protected and conserved areas operate. The guidance for this process is detailed in the next section on Programme Implementation

Assurance and Evaluation
The IUCN Green List Programme assures that ‘Green List’ sites are effectively and equitably managed, and achieving successful conservation of their values. A global partnership with Accreditation Services International (ASI) provides the programme with a proven Oversight Body tasked with assurance of the Programme. The assurance mechanisms and procedures in place ensure independence and credibility of decision-making. Participation by individual protected areas, conserved areas, and their governing agencies is entirely voluntary, through commitment to promote continuous improvement through the Standard.

Global Codes of Good Practice for Sustainability Standards
IUCN is committed to ensure its Green List Programme follows best practices for inclusive, credible and effective standard-setting and implementation processes.
The IUCN Green List Standard is seeking to comply with ISEAL requirements by 2019.
The ISEAL Alliance's mission is to strengthen sustainability standards for the benefit of people and the environment. ISEAL is one of the global leaders that are defining and communicating what good practice looks like for sustainability standards.
ISEAL's three Codes of Good Practice are seen as global references for developing credible standards. All steps in the standards and certification process, including standard-setting, impact evaluation and assurance (certification and accreditation) have a role to play in the effectiveness of a system. These Codes of Good Practice are applied by leading standards systems, and compliance is an ISEAL membership requirement.
Read more about ISEAL’s Code of Good Practice

The IUCN Green List Standard development phase 2012 to 2016
In 2012 an IUCN Resolution (WCC 2012-Res-041-EN) called for the development of objective criteria for ‘Green Listing’. The IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA) and IUCN’s Global Protected Areas Programme accordingly convened a global development and consultation process to create and test a new Standard for protected areas. A pilot phase in eight jurisdictions was undertaken with results presented at the IUCN World Parks Congress, Sydney, November 2014. A total of 25 protected and conserved areas received a ‘Green List’ certificate for their achievements.
Since September 2015 the IUCN Green List Performance Standard for Protected and Conserved Areas is open for consultation. 
Through an online survey open through to the end of January, the first round of open consultation resulted in 161 submissions, from over 500 individuals, in multiple languages. These covered more than 5,000 specific comments and suggested edits. The consultation follows the ISEAL Alliance code of best practice in sustainability standards development.
Comments focused on what contributors think should be the hallmark of a conservation area in the 21st Century. All suggestions received were given equal weight and consideration by an IUCN Standard Group and associated experts. An event hosted by the United Nations Environment Programme -World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) convened a diverse and multi-disciplinary team of experts to help shape the latest revisions to the Standard.
In November 2017, the IUCN Green List Standard Version 1.1 was approved by the IUCN CouncilIUCN prepares for a new wave of ‘Green List’ conservation success.

User manual 
The IUCN Green List User Manual provides guidance for implementing the IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas. It describes the procedures that all participants in the IUCN Green List should follow, ensuring processes are transparent, objective, impartial and inclusive.
Specifically, the IUCN Green List User Manual describes how the IUCN Green List Standard is developed; how the different roles in the supporting programme are defined; how protected and conserved areas voluntarily commit to the Standard; how they are evaluated based on a set of adapted indicators; and how observance of the rules and procedures of the User Manual is verified. In addition, it contains guidance on various aspects that help users implement the rules and procedures of the IUCN Green List Standard process.
This is an image